Now really, is there anything you can’t find on YouTube?

May 3, 2008 § 9 Comments

following a little discussion I’ve been having with the good drdrA..

I think I have some Youtubing to do tonight…

now is it history that repeats or is this guy just a fucking genius?

§ 9 Responses to Now really, is there anything you can’t find on YouTube?

  • drdrA says:

    Oh Bikemonkey-

    He’s obviously a genius, and you are a kindred spirit. I found these (and numerous others) on youtube back in december- when I was looking for a video of him doing ‘A Christmas Carol’ for a friend. These are totally awesome.

    And since we are trading politically satirical songs… I’ve got another one you may like. Its not Tom Lehrer…but its from another songwriting genius…

  • drdrA says:

    One more thing, I failed to say that my parent’s raised me on Tom Lehrer…weird, I know, but three cheers for mom and dad…

  • bikemonkey says:

    and do you wish that Dr. Freud had been differently employed? or do circumstances no longer enhance the finances of the followers of Dr. Sigmund Freud?

    or will you
    come join the John Birch Society, help us fill the ranks, to get this movement started we need lots of tools and cranks

  • bikemonkey says:

    One more thing, I failed to say that my parent’s raised me on Tom Lehrer…weird, I know, but three cheers for mom and dad…

    yeah, us too. i’m sure there’s more kids of the folk song generation walking around with lehrer lyrics burned in the brain than you think.

    between Tom Lehrer and old Doonesbury is there much more required for a recent historical US political/civics lesson?

  • drdrA says:

    Ok, those are Chad Mitchell Trio songs.- which I don’t remember the tune for- but I’m going to youtube them tomorrow… jog my middle-aged memory…

    Of course this group is from my home state and had John Denver in it for a time… and he was big at our house too… not comparable satirical genius to the likes of Tom Lehrer though… but he does have some songs that are just funny- like Toledo, and Forest Lawn…

  • bikemonkey says:

    Ok, those are Chad Mitchell Trio songs.

    oh, you are very good…

  • drdrA says:

    🙂

    Hey, I couldn’t find them on youtube though, but now I remember their other classics- The marvelous toy (which has been sung by various people including pete seeger (I think), and 4 strong winds…

  • bikemonkey says:

    now revere has one up! what is this, tom lehrer week?

  • drdrA says:

    Oh, I love that one. I think you started something here Bikemonkey!

    You know, I have to say- I always loved the songs and the way he sings them, but it’s even BETTER to see his facial expressions while he is performing.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Now really, is there anything you can’t find on YouTube? at Sun Dappled Forest.

meta

