Close

May 31, 2008 § 9 Comments

I didn’t die yesterday.

I didn’t suffer massive injuries while the truck flipped over three or four times on the steep hill.

I didn’t receive head injuries from sideswiping somebody on the freeway at 70 per. Nor even whiplash from being rearended while sitting like a dead duck.

Nope.

I didn’t kill anybody either.

Not by smashing their econobox flat with an out of control tank that passes for my ride.

I didn’t run up on the sidewalk and wipe out some poor pedestrians.

Instead, the aforementioned tank suffered complete and utter fucking failure of an absolutely essential member of the steering committee at 0 mph trying to leave the curb.

It was a good day.

§ 9 Responses to Close

  • melville says:

    Lucky! I’m going to crawl under my (you’ll like this) brown 71 VW Bus and check all that shit. Thanks for the reminder.

  • bikemonkey says:

    hah. I got rid of my van almost 10 years ago. i don’t miss it! it was a great student car but man, tell me you don’t haul kiddos around in that thing…

  • melville says:

    But we do! It helps that we don’t live in such a crazy place as SoCal. The last two years, she’s been rolling some modern iron, but we’re aircoolers at the core.

    The 71 now mostly does surf and lumberyard duty, but the 74 poptop Westy takes us lots of places.

    Heck, we’d put all the seats in and we’d provide most of the field trip transport at the older child’s school. We were the only parents available in the daytime who consistently had insurance…..

  • bikemonkey says:

    Dude, I’m going to have to call CPS on your behind…

  • melville says:

    Only if you call those idiots who moved without PC against YFZ in Texas. I could use a good civil settlement.

  • bikemonkey says:

    prob cause or not it was the right call…

  • bikemonkey says:

    to go in, anyway. Not so much the separations

  • larue says:

    When you went to steering committee I was gonna SWEAH this was a political rant.

    So, blown steering column?
    Power steering unit give out?
    Blown hoses (not like blown seals)?
    Tie rods give out?

    What?

    Glad you, and the rest of the planet are safe on that day.

  • bikemonkey says:

    tie rod end. or relay rod end. fuck which one connects to the steering column? that one. like I said, complete and utter failure, kinda like the bush admin in katrina

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Close at Sun Dappled Forest.

meta

