Huh. I don’t think I can ever be President.

April 20, 2011 § 1 Comment

So Trump is getting a bunch of press for dragging up Birther crap again. And good old Fox news has

Gone Full Birther

this has been laid to bed. From 2009:
In an attempt to quash persistent rumors that President Obama was not born in Honolulu on Aug. 4, 1961, Hawaii’s health director reiterated Monday afternoon that she has personally seen Obama’s birth certificate in the Health Department’s archives:

“I, Dr. Chiyome Fukino, director of the Hawaii State Department of Health, have seen the original vital records maintained on file by the Hawaii State Department of Health verifying Barack Hussein Obama was born in Hawaii and is a natural-born American citizen. I have nothing further to add to this statement or my original statement issued in October 2008 over eight months ago….

Factcheck.org laid this canard to rest too..in 2008:

FactCheck.org staffers have now seen, touched, examined and photographed the original birth certificate. We conclude that it meets all of the requirements from the State Department for proving U.S. citizenship. Claims that the document lacks a raised seal or a signature are false. We have posted high-resolution photographs of the document as “supporting documents” to this article. Our conclusion: Obama was born in the U.S.A. just as he has always said.

Now, let’s not be stupid here. The Republican talking class promotes this stuff as a scurrilous attack on the legitimacy of Obama. That is there real goal….to undercut the President. So this is far beyond a matter of silly little trivialities like facts. They cannot be convinced with any evidence because they think they have a lie that resonates.

However, let us focus on the allegation. As far as I can tell the Birthers are obsessed that Obama has released a “Certificate of Live Birth”, not a “Birth Certificate”, and that it is apparently a copy and not an “original”.

So basically if you don’t have the precise document that was issued within weeks of when you were actually born, these birthers think you can’t qualify as President.

Yeaaaah. I don’t have that. And I suspect that any copy that I get from the County Hall that recorded my birth won’t be up to snuff either.

See…I was adopted as a child. The identity of my birth mother, due to existing state law at the time, is blocked from any records that are available to me and, presumably any future Fox News pundits and their lackies. So even the official record, such as it is, lists parents that any casual inspection would inform you are not my biological ones.

Jesus, how many fucking people can these teabagging Republicans declare as not really Americans? We know they hate any sort of minority, the nonreligious, immigrants, gays and libruls….now adoptees?

WTF, GOP, WTMFFRUBBQ?

§ One Response to Huh. I don’t think I can ever be President.

  • melville says:

    You speak too directly to make it in politics, anyway.

    They can pick apart the documents as much as they like, but I have a hard time believing that Barack Sr and Stanley Ann Dunham had the funds to travel ANYWHERE, much less Kenya, in the summer of 1961. My own experience 25 years later with international students (from prosperous European countries, reachable with a non-stop flight) showed me that travel for breaks, including summer, was prohibitively expensive. Most of those kids tried to stay with friends/find work. Hawai’i to Kenya in 1961? No way.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Huh. I don’t think I can ever be President. at Sun Dappled Forest.

meta

