Steve Martin Lesson for Flat Taxer ‘chenozzles

The Way I See It #112 from my Starbucks cup:

“if you’ve got a dollar and you spend twenty-nine cents on a loaf of bread, you’ve got seventy-one cents left. But if you’ve got seventeen grand and you spend twenty-nine cents on a load of bread, you’ve still got seventeen grand. There’s a math lesson for you.”
–Steve Martin
Comedian and writer

Tax lesson, math lesson, social compact civics lesson….whatever. Do you get it now you rich asses complaining about your supposed “fair” share? I am soooo tired of our politics pretending you have a valid point. If you can afford bread, you’re good…

2 thoughts on “Steve Martin Lesson for Flat Taxer ‘chenozzles

  1. You’ve got money for Starbucks?

    Once upon a time, the progressive tax code was based on the concept of ENOUGH. Top tax rate was essentially 100%, indicating that the gov’t thought you had ENOUGH above a certain level. Ronald Reagan made a bit more than ENOUGH, and the rate pissed him off. You know the rest…..

  2. I would like a reverse tax. Not welfare, mind you. But the government realizing that I’m far more awesome than the amount I’m making and that it is lucky to have me. And therefore they send me money to compensate me and to thank me for being so terrific.

Leave a comment